Loading Events



With great pleasure, the Charlottenborg Foundation and Kunsthal Charlottenborg invite you to the Charlottenborg Spring Exhibition 2020 when we open our doors once again to one of the most important open, censored exhibitions in Europe since 1857. Celebrations take place: Saturday 1 February at 19-24. The exhibition closes at 22:00

Welcome speech at 19:30 by Thomas Lindvig, Chairman of the Board, Charlottenborg Foundation. Followed by opening statement on behalf of this year's jury by director of Malmö Art Museum, Kirse Junge-Stevnsborg, where this year's Solo Prize Winner and Talent Prize Winner are also revealed. At 20:30, the artist Silke Xenia Juul (DK) will perform 'BEDWRITTEN: A One Woman Show' (2018). The performance lasts about 37 minutes and will only be performed on opening night.

DJ Christian d'Or provides music throughout the evening and Apollo Canteen serves the day's dish for 85 KR. Admission is free and everyone is welcome!

Artists of the year:
Marie Agnild (DK), Selin Akin (TR) & Alexander Papakonstandinou (GR), Katja Angeli (DK), Shimon Attie (US), Bianca Barandun (CH), Anders Bendixen (DK), Stine Bidstrup (DK), BLUE TIT Production (Helle Pagter, Amia Miang & Pernille Koch) (DK), Silke Brandes (DK), Bue Bredsdorff (DK), Andreas Brunner (CH), Kasper Christiansen (DK), Valerie Collart (FR), Bjorn Colstrup (DK), Hilde Dramstad (NO), Frans Drewniak (DK), Ellen Dynebrink (SE) , AnneMette Elmelund (DK), Signe Emdal (DK), Simone Fezer (DE), Lauge Groes (DK), Henriikka Harinen (FI), Dorthe Herup (DK), Liisa Hietanen (FI), Davide Hjort (IT), Erik Hjorth (DK), Annamarie Ho (US), Gunzi Holmstr öm (FI), Mette Homar (DK), Hanna Hyy (FI), Maria Høyen (NO), Mads Max Ibenfeldt (DK), Noa Ironic (IL), Amalie Vöge Jensen (DK), Nellie Jonsson (SE), Silke Xenia Juul (DK), Nikki Jääskeläinen (FI) , Jakob Jørgensen (DK), Kamilla Jørgensen (DK), Niklas Karlsson (SE), Malene Kastalje (DK), Jonna China (FI), Maria Koshenkova (RU), Rebecka Larsdotter (SE), Anton Lind (SE), Christina Maj Lundqvist (DK), Material Think Space (Kate Williams (US) & Louis Alderson-Bythell (UK),Anne Mortensen (DK), Niels Østergaard Munk (DK), Isaac Nissen (DK), Anna Nyberg (SE), Karl Ejnar Nybo (DK), Annelie Grimwade Olofsson (SE), Christina Bruun Olsson (DK) , Iida Pii (FI), François Réau (FR), Marie Retpen (DK) & Begitte Lynge Andersen (DK), Sixten Sandra (SE), Katherine Sankey (IE), Susanne Schwieter (DE), Henk Stallinga (NL), Trine Struwe (DK), Stine Stubdrup (DK), Charlotte Thorup (DK), Attilio Tono (IT), André Viking (DK), Austin Voll (US), Vic West (SE), Sky Lucy Young (DK), Heidi Øiseth (NO).

In addition, last year's recipient of the Charlottenborg Spring Exhibition Solo Prize, Samaneh Roghani (IR), presents a solo exhibition with a new installation created for charlottenborg Spring Exhibition 2020.

In 2020, the jury of the year consists of Kirse Junge-Stevnsborg (director, Malmö Kunstmuseum), Morten Løbner Espersen (artisan), Tina Maria Nielsen (visual artist), Trine Søndergaard (visual artist) and Trude Mardal (architect). With their artistic practice and background as well as international experience, they have not only selected this year's works for Charlottenborg Spring Exhibition 2020, but also nominated five participants for this year's Solo Prize as well as selected a winner of this year's Solo And Talent Prize, which is announced on the opening night.

The nominees for this year's Solo Prize 2020 are: Andreas Brunner (CH), Signe Emdal (DK), Rebecka Larsdotter (SE), Anton Lind (SE) and Niels Munk Østergaard (DK).

Spring Exhibition 2020
1. February 19-24

Location: Kongens Nytorv 1
Copenhagen, 1050
Admission: Free